I’ve finished the collar and mattress-stitched the side seams, with minimal ripping out and resewing.

I don’t love the sewing of seams, which is weird since I spend so much time sewing quilt blocks together.  Because I want to avoid more seaming, I decided that I will pick up stitches around the armholes and knit the sleeves in the round, from shoulder to cuff.  Bonus:  Denis can try on the sweater before I bind off, so the sleeve length will be just right.  He’s a tall man with long arms, so I suspect that the 18 inches of standard length will not do.

I can only guess at this point, though, since he refused to try the sweater on last night.  I can’t understand why he doesn’t want to put on a thick, silky wool sweater in the middle of July, can you?

This morning I took some time to browse the aisles at Michael’s, and found an interesting sock yarn I hadn’t heard of before:

Patons Stretch Socks, a soft blend of cotton, wool, nylon and elastic.  This colourway is called “Sugar”.  Once I have finished with the sweater sleeves, I’ll knit myself a pair of toe-up socks with this.  For now, it will snuggle with the rest of the stash.

