I haven’t been a full-time student for 10 years now, but September still feels like the beginning of a new year.  September is when I look back at the goals I have achieved, and make plans for the future.

And I will be going back to school in a sense.  I’ll be teaching my favourite class at Quilty Pleasures in October…fabric covered boxes.  If you’re available on a couple of Friday mornings next month, and you enjoy hand sewing, why not join me?  The class details weren’t available on the web site last time I checked, but should be posted there soon.  It will be October 17th and 24th, from 10 a.m. until noon.  The box is a six-sided construction, about 4 inches tall and 7 inches wide.  The fee is a very reasonable $35, and includes pre-cut cardboard pieces for the box frame.

I know a visual would help here, and once the batteries charge up for my camera, I’ll post a photo of my favourite box.  I’ve also finished the Halcyon socks, and am eager to show them off.  They’re the best-fitting pair I’ve ever knit, due entirely to switching to the 2-circular needle method of knitting them, which allowed me to try them on at any point during construction.  Neat!

