Indeed, I still make quilts from time to time.  My machine quilting skills are not the greatest, so once a top has been pieced/appliqued it sometimes languishes before (and during) the quilting phase.  The Japanese Wedding quilt is from a pattern published in Quilter’s Newsletter magazine (one of the 2007 issues, I think).  I changed it marginally, cutting the floral fabrics in squares.  In the pattern, each floral square was made up of two rectangles.  I wanted to use squares instead, because some of these fabrics are larger scale and I wanted to see more of the design without chopping it up.  I’m about a third of the way through quilting it.

japanese quilt

Most of the indigo fabrics are from Japan, but some are asian-inspired American fabrics.  The florals are all American quilting cottons.  I’m quilting it with King Tut cotton quilting thread in the “Lobelia” colourway, which is variegated but looks almost solid on the cone.

I’m thrilled to have been able to use those indigo fabrics together.  I collected little bits and pieces for years to have enough to make a scrappy-looking quilt.  Perhaps I will finish it before the end of the year!

