Of course, I could not resist starting the Rockin’ Sock Club socks.  I was a little nervous about knitting with beads, but I’m getting the hang of it, and it hasn’t been as slow as I thought it would be.  This is working up to be a nice sock.

siviasock

I resisted knitting the pattern as written, since I’m so fond of toe-up socks, but since I want to learn some new techniques, I decided to follow along.  I’m really glad  I did.  This pattern is elegant.  The tubular cast-on is so neat and extremely stretchy.  After I took this photo, I knit the heel flap, and was  impressed by the way the stitches transition from the beaded lattice design to the slip stitch heel pattern.  I’m generally no fan of flap-and-gusset heels, but I’m actually liking this one.  Poor Clapotis is taking a back seat this week, but I’m working the decrease rows now, so the end is near.

