There will be some 2009 Rockin Sock Club spoilers in this post, so look away if you don’t want to read about the March socks.

I haven’t been blogging very regularly, but I’ve still been knitting.  There have been some inspiring sock pattern books published in the last few months, and I can see many more socks coming off my needles this summer.

First, I finally knit a pair with the Patons Stretch Socks yarn.

stretchsockdone

They are quite soft and comfortable, and go very well with jeans.  This picture was taken after two trips through the washer and dryer, and they’re in good shape with only a little pilling.  I have to be careful knitting with this yarn, though.  If you don’t keep an even tension, and stretch the yarn too much while knitting, you can end up with two socks of visibly different size.

I recently received a copy of Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe Up, and I want to knit every single pattern.  Gorgeous socks, knit in yarns that make my credit card tremble in anticipation.  I had never knit a short row toe before, so I grabbed a skein of Araucania Ranco multy, and knit basic stockinette socks with short row toes and heels, using one of the basic patterns from Wendy’s book.

rancosock

I tossed away the ballband from this one, so I don’t know which colour of “multy” this one is.  The Araucania is not a very soft wool, but it is nice enough and has some nylon in it, so maybe it will wear better?  I love the short colour bursts in this yarn; it gives lots of different colours without a pronounced striping effect.

The March sock for the Rockin Sock Club was designed by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, and stretched my sock skills to the limit.

rogueroseclose

The pattern is called “Rogue Roses”, and that panel of purl stitches and rosebuds twists diagonally across the leg of the sock.  The cuff has a picot edge, something else I had never tried before, plus the socks are knit as mirror images of one another.  My aching head!  It was worth it.  I love these socks, which look alarmingly torqued on their own, but fit perfectly once slipped on the feet.  The yarn is Socks that Rock mediumweight, in the members-only “Gertrude Skein”.  I’d love to make a quilt in those colours. 

My fabric stash has been sorely neglected while I’ve been so caught up in sock knitting.  I will have some quilting photos to share soon, though.

