I love beef stew so much, I have been known to make it in July, when opening the oven door could give you heat stroke!  With the arrival of autumn, I couldn’t wait to get out to Metro this afternoon to buy some stewing beef and inaugurate the season of the stew. And now it is in the oven.

For some reason, I can’t figure out how to edit my post so that the ingredient list isn’t double spaced, so bear with me a moment:

Beef Stew with Tomato Sauce

1 pound stew beef

2 red potatoes

3 celery ribs

1 small bag of ‘baby cut’ carrots

1 can pasta sauce

1/2 cup of water

splash of Lea & Perrins Worchestershire sauce

Chop the meat and veggies into bite-size pieces and put them in an oven-proof pot with a lid. Add about a cup of the pasta sauce, more if you like it really tomatoey. Mix in the water and Lea & Perrins.  I also like to add a bit of italian herbs and pepper. Cover the pot and place in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours. Enjoy! This usually makes enough for Denis and I to enjoy for supper, and some lunch leftovers. The dog loves to beg for a taste, too, but I’m not sure how great an endorsement that is.

