Since I pinched a nerve in my neck in November, I haven’t been able to knit very much. It’s improving, thank goodness, but I am still an honourary member of the “sock a month” club. That’s about how long it took to get through this one:

The pattern is “Socks for Veronik”, from the Holiday 2007 issue of Interweave Knits. I used 2mm needles (2 circulars) and Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in “South Shore”. I had hoped the colours would blend together a bit more. The stripey look is not what I was expecting. It’s the first time I’ve used this yarn, and I really like it. Not splitty, and quite soft even though it is 25% nylon. I will definitely use it again.

I’m being sorely tempted to cast on another pair before I get to the second Veronik sock. On Ravelry, the “Socks From the Toe Up” Knit ALong group is starting the “I Heart Toe Up Socks” pattern for January, and I have the perfect yarn to knit them!

Alchemy’s Juniper sock yarn (100% merino), in the Cherry Tart colourway. Yep, it’s really that screamin’ pink. I love it. Usually, though, if I don’t cast on the 2nd sock of a pair as soon as I finish the first, I am infected by the dreaded “Second Sock Syndrome”. And how long will it be before I have a new pair of socks if I keep knitting alternate singles? I guess I’d better do some laundry.

