I should have been casting off yesterday, but events conspired against me. I like spending Sunday afternoon with a few magazines and a little knitting project completion. However, the second lattice sock did not get finished yesterday. I still have 11 rounds of K2P2 and a Russian bind-off to finish before I can wear these.

Oh, well. Part of the reason I didn’t finish is that I couldn’t resist casting on something new! Wendy Johnson is hosting a knit-along (KAL) on her blog, to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s birth. Wendy released the first part of the pattern yesterday, and I’ve decided to join in and knit her design, based on EZ’s Pi shawl. I knit a swatch to see if the yarn I wanted to use would produce a nice lacy fabric. It did.

The yarn is Fleece Artist merino 2/6, in the Seashore colourway. I knit the swatch pattern that Wendy provided last week, using 3.25 mm needles. I’m a loose knitter, and usually have to use a smaller than average needle to do lace knitting. I’ve also switched to wood needles for knitting lace, and I notice that I am not misplacing my YOs like I used to!

I cast on for the Pi shawl yesterday, but just barely.

That’s a whole 7 rounds of knitting. I really enjoy knitting with Fleece Artist merino, so this will be a fun knit, but I need to get that sock done first.

