I have finally gathered together enough bits and pieces of floral fabrics to make a good start on the new version of Paper Bag Roses. I’m using 1.5 inch hexagons. As you can see, I have gone back to English Paper Piecing! It is more time consuming than hand piecing with marked seam lines, but I tried that and didn’t like the way the seams pressed out.

Joining Karen’s One Flower Wednesday group is very motivating! I sewed like the wind on Monday so that I would have a flower to show. Notice the thread burps on the front of the block from the basting thread? I decided to use some el cheapo thread from years ago, since I didn’t want to “waste” good thread on basting. Big mistake. The cheap stuff tangled if I just looked at it the wrong way. So I set my frugal impulses aside and started basting with the good thread (Masterpiece by Superior Thread, there is nothing better). Lesson learned.

And aren’t the brown-eyed Susans looking nice this year? Flowers everywhere. I hope there are flowers blooming where you are today.

